Global Network of Collaborating Centers

The Global Network of WHO Collaborating Centres (WHOCCs) for Nursing and Midwifery Development is a is an independent, international, non-for-profit network comprising of WHO Collaborating Centres from the six regions of WHO, who focus on nursing and midwifery. Founded in 1988 the Network strives to enhance the collaborative activities of Nursing and Midwifery Collaborating Centres, supporting WHO's efforts toward universal health coverage.

In July 2014, the WHO Collaborating Centre for Nursing, Midwifery and Health Development at the University of Technology, Sydney Australia, was elected to act as Secretariat of the Global Network. Through this website, we aim to maximize the visibility of our members' collaborative activities and disseminate relevant information on nursing and midwifery. The mission assumed by this Secretariat is to build upon the structure and work developed by the previous Secretariats and disseminate information about and for Nursing and Midwifery Collaborating Centres.

The Global Network has an elected governing body consisting of a secretariat elected from the member Collaborating Centers for a period of four years and it functions as the coordinating body of the Network.

In line with the WHO policies which consider that research in the field of health is best advanced by assisting, coordinating and making use of the activities of existing institutions, the WHO Collaborating Centers were created to support it in its areas of expertise at the local, national and international levels.

| Vision |

Health for all through Nursing and Midwifery Excellence.

| Mission |

To maximize the contribution of nursing and midwifery in order to advance states, Member Centers, NGOs, and others interested in promoting the health of populations.

Global Network of Collaborating Centers

Click on each Collaborating Center for more information.